Lahore: The city of Lively hearts

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

It’s a human nature that he loves and admires the place where he lives. It seems strange but it’s true that the man often appears unaware of this fact in his life.

Last year I visited my sister who lives in another city. It so happened that after five days I started to feel “home sick” and at that very moment I realized that I was actually missing my very own city of “lively hearts”.

Lahore is my city and I had spent my whole childhood here. Lahore is often known as a city of beautiful gardens and colleges.

I personally admires the semi arid climate of my city. So, the scorching sun of July always fills my heart with the warmth of happiness. It is a month in which temperature rises above 40 degree Celsius.Β This rise in temperature provides “Lahoris” with an excellent opportunity of enjoying their evenings in swimming. Mangoes, watermelon andΒ Grewia Asiatica are among some of the summer fruits which provide some relief from the sweltering summer.

Lahore is a city of lively people. “Lahoris” are popular because of their nature of enjoying each and every moment of their lives. They love to eat and the city is known for its delicious “Lahori cuisine”.

This is only a bird’s eye view of my beautiful city. My people are “amazing” and this city is “worth visiting”.

Dear reader, thank you for taking a virtual tour of my city.

God Bless you!

(image courtesy: Google image and Wikipedia)

 

 

31 thoughts on “Lahore: The city of Lively hearts

  1. Wow your city has magnificent buildings, I love that it’s called the City of Lively Hearts. My Dr. spoke of the buses and mentioned the museum and spoke of many outdoor fairs that would take place. I’m so glad you sent me this link! It’s so nice to have a glimpse at what you see everyday and I love how you feel about it. The canal is beautiful, have you ever traveled on it? What is the tall monument in the aerial shot, it looks a little like the Eiffel Tower?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This tall monument is called “Minar-e-Pakistan”. It’s a public monument which was built in 1960 at a place where the Lahore resolution was passed in 1940. The main idea of the resolution was a need of the separate homeland for the Muslims of subcontinent. On the map of Asia, this region of Pakistan and India were once part of subcontinent. The history of this region is deep and complex. The Quaid-e-Azam library was built in the mid nineteenth century during the British rule and this Badshahi Mosque was constructed between 1671 and 1673. Do you know that Pakistan came into being in 1947. Hundreds of thousands of Muslims migrated to their new homeland. It is considered as the largest migration in the history of mankind.
      I hope all this discussion didn’t make you bore. Actually, the history of this region is so rich that the beauty of the city attracts lots of tourists.
      No, I didn’t travel through this canal but I find this information on Wikipedia that might interest you.
      The 37 mile waterway was initially built by Mughals (1526-1707) and when British came then they upgraded this Canal in 1861. It was also upgraded in 1976.
      The canal, aside from its importance in irrigation purposes, forms the centre of a unique linear park that serves as one of the longest public green belts and popular recreational destination spots.
      It’s way too long but I enjoyed sharing this information here πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh no this is not too long and you did not bore me at all. Reading it the way you explain it I find it very fascinating. I did not know Pakistan was formed in 1947, I thought it had been around for 1000s of years…in school I did not find geography nor history or even some parts of science very interesting. I enjoyed math, cooking and drama club. Always wanted to be an actress, so the real facts of the world did not hold my interest. Now that I am older and wiser πŸ˜‰ I find it much more fascinating. I love learning about your country and city from you..write as long and as much as you desire!! Since the waterway is used for irrigation purposes I assume they do not have boat rides on it, is that correct? πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Not such but in sweltering heat of summer,
          the young and energetic youth enjoy doing swimming in it πŸ™‚
          Apart from its irrigation purposes the canal serves as a longest public green belts. On local and national festivals the canal is also illuminated with lights and decor.
          I’m glad that you find this information interesting to read πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I find this very interesting and I thank you for taking the time to share so much with me! The canal must be very pretty and somewhat magical looking when the lights are on!! And oh what a wonderful place to cool off. πŸ™‚

            Liked by 1 person

  2. A very beautiful place indeed…. Having lot’s of historical monuments… It seems like India and Pakistan are moreover the same, just like a twin of a mother πŸ™‚ Thank you, dear, for sharing this πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lahore sure is Beautiful – with all its exquisite food delights and those great gigantic monuments in the Walled City. It sure is wonderful to give a visit, and to live here is an adventure everyday πŸ™‚

    Happy Breathing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. πŸ™‚
      I live in Pakistan and Pakistan shares border with India. Pakistan, India and Indonesia are a part of Asia.
      More precisely, Pakistan and India are in South Asia while Indonesia is there in Southeast Asia.

      Hope that helps:)
      Thank you for liking my post!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Oh thank you so much! I remember now you telling me you are from Pakistan. I need one of the round world globes! LOL! Yes, I did like your post and I am going to be highlighting it today in my Saturday Share where I write up a post and tell people that are following me about the wonderful blogs I follow. Unfortunately, I can only do a few at a time or I would do everyone’s all at once! LOL! haha

        Liked by 1 person

would love to have your lovely comments

