I’m afraid of cats!

cats

 

 

 

 

 

It was a cold and misty night and everyone was getting ready to sleep. In those days, I used to throw off my quilt while sleeping. So, my mother told me to close the door and asked me to get into my sleeping bag.

As, a child I didn’t listen to her properly and went to sleep without closing the room door.

The much-needed warmth of the sleeping bag provided me comfort and I was soon fast asleep. In the middle of the night, the strange sounds of snoring startled me. I woke up and tried to look around and the sight froze me.

It was a cat lying beside me. The furry creäture was lying so close to me that I could hear it breathing heavily.I was so terrified by that intruder that I let out a loud shriek.

My family arrived to rescue me but before they could reach my room, they saw a cat running outside. In fact, my piercing sound was enough to wake it up from its dreams of mouse and cheese.

Later, my mother scolded me for not closing the door and I was so terrified to see the hair of cat beside my pillow that I preferred to sleep with my sister for the rest of that night.

I have often been asked about the reason of my bitter attitude towards the cats. So, this is the reason. I admit that all cats are not bad. But, that intrusion in my room made me so terrified that despite all my efforts to reduce this fear, I have still not succeeded in discovering any innocence in this cat family.

I’m sorry if I hurt your feelings because I know that most of you love their cats 🙂

Still, I wonder if you have something similar to share. What animals are you afraid off?

18 thoughts on “I’m afraid of cats!

  1. Haha, I am petrified of most animals cats, dogs, you name it! My grandmother has lots of cats and my problem with them is that to cling on humans body. Especially when we are sleeping, they come and lie down beside us, beneath our heads. I’m still scared of them and can barely sleep with them around. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love cats. My fear is of dogs. When I was a child we were out at Sherwood Forest and this great big dog (or so it seemed to me at the time!) came bounding at me as I played. I ran away, screaming for my mum. I’ve been scared of them ever since. I look back now and can recognise that the dog probably just wanted to play but it doesn’t change my fear. I can easily understand how your fear of cats has persisted. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you fairymind for sharing your story. It makes me feel that I’m not alone in my fear of cats:)
      Your encounter with the dog is frightening and it’s a long time ago but such incidents leaves their impact on mind. That’s why you are scared of them and I’m afraid of cats:)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I can understand how it feels, when in the half sleep you face a cat sleeping to your next, it is scary ! I have seen those loving cats too but i am the same person who is bit scared of cats.
    Eeew I can easily die if I find some reptile(like lizard)or deadly insect near me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m not afraid of cats, I have a phobia from cats. I hate them, i am afraid of them, i can’t stand their voice or their eyes. I often dream about them scratching me. And that was such a scary story for me.I feel bad for you but it was a long time go. I think the moral of the story is to listen. Be careful and sleep safely 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

would love to have your lovely comments

