It happened one night…

dove

 

 

 

 

The wind blew furiously and soon it started to rain. After a hot day, the cold breeze brought much-needed refreshment and we all became very happy.

I was in a kitchen, making a tea for my family, when I heard a pathetic chirping of a bird. Our flowering shrubs had been home to many birds. So, I got alarmed by that voice and asked my sister to come with me.

What we saw outside was a baby dove huddled against the wind. The poor bird was probably blown away from its nest.  The little bird was frightened. We got worried and the whole family gathered outside. Everyone proposed his or her own idea, but my father gently took the bird in his hands and carried him inside.

My mother placed a basket in an inverted position and my elder sister wrapped the bird in an old shirt and carefully placed him on the sheet of paper.

Children were especially very excited. They kept sitting around the bird and continued to examine it. At last, when it was very late, my mother scolded them and asked them to go to their beds. The morning was bright and sunny. So, after breakfast, my father took the baby dove outside and gently placed him on the wall.

The window of our drawing room opened in a garden. So, we all gathered there and started to look at the bird. I must admit that never, in my life I had ever seen such a touching scene.

There it was a pair of a light brown colored “mourning dove”. The father and the mother doves were grooming their chick. They were cleaning his feathers and gently pushing him with their beaks.

The golden sunshine was filtering through the green leaves and was gently caressing the happy doves. It occurred to me that the cOO oo-woo-woo of the dove was no more plaintive. In fact, it was a happy song of the delighted heart of a dove. The bird who was earlier mourning the loss of his baby was now singing the happy song of reunion.

That beautiful scene is still fresh in my mind. I can never forget that care and love of a dove for its chick.

 

19 thoughts on “It happened one night…

would love to have your lovely comments

