BLACK BEAUTY : The autobiography of a horse

Black beauty

“Black Beauty” by “Anna Swell” is a classic English literature, and is counted among the 100 greatest novels of all time. The only novel of “Anna Swell” was a great success and the writer died just after the five months of the publication of the novel.

While, reading this novel, I was experiencing mixed feelings.  The moment when Black Beauty ran to save the life of her mistress brought tears in my eyes and Black Beauty’s showing love to his master was a moment of elation for me.

“Black Beauty” is a story of trust and loyalty. It is a beautiful tale of friendship which narrates the story of a horse and his journey from his birth to his old age.

The moments of flogging and the misery of a poor overloaded horse are beautifully narrated.  It is a story which starts from a lush green farm.  Moving from one hand to another, Black Beauty became a cab horse and also worked as a work horse.

This intriguing tale is written in a first person narrative. The scenes are so vividly described that the book is sure to leave an everlasting impact upon its reader’s mind.

Have you read this book? What really inspires you about the horses?

10 thoughts on “BLACK BEAUTY : The autobiography of a horse

  1. I read this book many, many years ago, when I was a child, and I loved it. Some of my children read it when they were young, too. I’ve seen TV series and a film made about it since, and the story never fails to captivate me. It’s a story that had stood the test of time – like so many of the classics. Thank you for reminding me of this lovely book.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for giving your valuable feedback here 🙂
      I’m late in reading this book but I’m glad that I’ve read it. Haven’t got chance to observe horses so closely and their instinct of taking revenge is a new thing for me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The amazing thing to me is witnessing their thoughts as they process them. They are not like people who able to put on false-faces. They reason. I’ve watched deer reason too. So I think maybe all animals reason things out and to do that they think, a lot more than we might think they think. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Madeeha. I couldn’t be happier for you choosing to post this. Black beauty is one of my favorite books. Read it several times and it is sad to think the Author died barely a few months after publication

    Liked by 2 people

would love to have your lovely comments

