Story: Linda’s Life

The life without children was lonely for her and in order to fill that vacant space, the kind old Linda showed great care for her flowers.

Standing in a window of my room, I often observed her garden. For, a neatly trimmed grass and the colorful bushes of flowers were a refreshing sight.

All day long, Linda kept herself busy in baking. In the evening she used to sit in her garden and the children from neighbor gathered round her. She was a great raconteur and while listening to Linda’s story, they also enjoyed eating her delicious cakes.

Painting was her way of expressing her feelings. Her house was full of her drawings.

I knew she was getting old and I was worried about her. Once, I tried to make her realized that she required some rest but she said

It’s true that I’m getting weak but I won’t like to sit idle. I’d like to die in harness.”

Today, the garden is for children to play and enjoy themselves.

As for me, I can imagine her standing in her garden doing painting.

Linda died with her boots on.

(186 words)

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Many thanks to PricelessJoy of Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. The photo prompt is provided by Graham Lawrence. It is a beautiful picture.

15 thoughts on “Story: Linda’s Life

  1. This is a wonderful story of a kind woman with a beautiful heart. I enjoyed the story very much and my heart was touched at the end. Beautiful story Madeeha! Thank you for participating in Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

would love to have your lovely comments

