Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre

The idea of reading the same book year after year after year seem strange to me, for I believe that it is a particular environment or a mood of a person which  provokes him to read a same book.

This December saw me reading the series of Harry Potter and once I closed the fifth part, I lost my interest and couldn’t read more. It’s my second time that I’ve halted midway and may be some time in future I’d like to take a stroll in that magical world again but for this time; I’m once again enjoying reading Jane Eyre.

I remember once our teacher told us that in order to read literature one needs to fall in love with it. And, at this very moment when I’m typing these words my mind is busy in thinking about the reasons of my love for this book.

Jane Eyre is different, for she’s not a gaudy figure but plain and simple and Mr. Rochester is not a typical handsome hero here. This is the novel which has been written in the backdrop of Victorian era and it tells a story of an orphan girl from her deprived childhood to her lovely youth.

Some events in this Victorian literature  seem out of this world but then these are the excellent depiction of emotions and feelings that win our hearts. At times, Thorn field appears dull and on the foreground of such dreary environment Charlotte Bronte has beautifully weaved a story of pure love and passion. I like reading the details about Mother Nature. For, sunlight, birds, flowers and leaves never cease to show their presence in this story.

To call it only a romantic novel won’t do justice to it, for “Jane Eyre” is an exceptional story and whenever I read the following quotes they always seem new to me

“Then learn from me not to judge by appearances.”

It is not violence that best overcomes hate__nor vengeance that most certainly heals injury.”

 

 

23 thoughts on “Jane Eyre

  1. I’ve never read Jane Eyre but I did see Sense & Sensibility isn’t that based on Jany Eyre? I loved that! I just read a quote about only reading what you love as there are so many choices of what to read!! Also, I have chosen you to participate in a Three Day Quote Challenge if you so desire, it is not necessary but if you think you might enjoy it here’s the link http://onceuponahotflash.com/2016/01/31/quote-of-the-day-challenge-2/
    Deb 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oops oh well, I still loved it! 😉 I knew it was a “Jane”…does that count? Oh I’m so happy you’re doing the quote challenge, I look forward to it…perhaps there’s something from Sense & Sensibility??? hee hee 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read to kill a mockingbird bird almost 5 times now and if not for the heartbreaking disappointed “go set a watchman” was, I would have been on my 6th.
    Ah, Jane Eyre is still on my shelf, yet to read it. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had to read this book in university three different times for three different classes. I’m glad it appeals to you. I have never been able to see what is so good about it. Jane is bothered and beaten as a child. She has a horrible experience at boarding school and Mr. Rochester is not a nice guy or an appealing one. I think he gets what he deserves I the end. If it weren’t for the fact that Jane is no beauty I would say hopefully it does have some parallels to Beauty and The Beast. Glad you enjoy it. But has never been my cup of Tea. The Harry Potter books are very good especially the last two. But it is hard to read the same if anything at once 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve read the sixth part but for this time I stopped reading after fifth. I agree Harry Potter books are actually captivating. The theme of friendship and the war between good and evil is close to my heart. And, for Jane Eyre, I like its first person narrative. Moreover, the charm of Victorian literature never expires (:

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Madeeha, your observations here are just wonderful. I have read Jane Eyre, and although some consider it a book for women, I do not. It is exceptional literature. I love your insight about the book. There is something about the writers of the 1800’s that really stand out to me. Their writing and the way they looked at life are amazing. By the way did you know that the author of the Harry Potter series is one of the richest people in the world? I think she may be the richest woman. Her wealth is in the billions of dollars. Anyway thanks for this post. Peace.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes, J K Rowling is one of the richest people in the world. Harry Potter is indeed a creation of an intelligent mind. Though, a work of fiction but the themes in Harry Potter feel close to real life.
      I agree Jane Eyre is not only for women. It is for everyone who wants to enjoy the process of reading. And, for that Victorian literature is a best choice.
      It is nice to hear that you like reading these observations. It is always a great experience to write something about a book which we enjoyed to read!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I liked this post quite a lot. It occurred to me with some books that I need 3 or 4 attempts to read them. FX The Lord of the Rings took for me almost 8 years. And now I just love it. I think the moment and your spirit chose the book, but sometimes, when you have fall in love with one book, you just cannot help going back to it one time and another.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My sister read this book once and she didn’t find herself in a mood to read Lord of the Rings again for she thinks that she need to create a whole new world to read this book again. Good for you that you finally read the book and it is great that you fall in love with it. Indeed, the world of fantasay teaches us a lot..
      Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts here!!

      Liked by 1 person

would love to have your lovely comments

