Confidence in writing

Self-doubt-writing-3

The other day, while reading about the use of “Qualifiers”, I came to know about the importance of confidence in writing. Apparently, it seems strange but effective writing process is all about self- confidence.

The written expression cluttered with phrases like I think, I’m of the opinion or I believe depicts that the writer lacks self-belief.

Let’s take a look at the following example

I believe that we the senior citizens can still play our effective role.

Or

We the senior citizens can still play our effective role.

In my opinion, the second sentence is complete and powerful. And, I think I’ve made a mistake here.

Oops, again the same mistake…

So, as I’m off to strike unnecessary phrases from my post tell me about your idea of writing. How do you ensure that your writing doesn’t lacks confidence? Are you in a habit of deleting unnecessary words from your writing?

11 thoughts on “Confidence in writing

    1. You’re absolutely right that it’s a never ending process. Confidence builds with few writes and the use of strong words in writing strengthens it.
      Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts here 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi Madeeha! I definitely rethink what I write, especially with thoughts of “can I use a better, more descriptive word”. You make a great point about using “I think” or “In my opinion” they do weaken the point.
    I wanted to tell you, I saw my Dr. yesterday and I was telling him how I have a sweet friend in Lahore. He told me that he lived there back in 1965 before the war and also during the war. He was a medical doctor for the military. He also spoke of Mall Road, and that there was a hotel there that he would often stay at. He said it has changed very much from when he lived there back in 1965, as all cities do. He told me that at the end of Mall Road there used to be a small outside store that sold various items. I think I brought him back in time for a while and he enjoyed reminiscing.
    Hope you are doing well…have a beautiful day!!
    xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Deb, your doctor is right. With the passage of time lot has been changed but one’s nostalgia towards this city remains same. If I make an English translation of my teacher’s words then he used to say that Lahore is the worlds most beautiful cancer. Sure, it was his own way of expressing his love 🙂
      It’s been some time that I wrote this post and shared some beautiful pictures of my city
      https://valiantwarrior.wordpress.com/category/city-tour/

      There’s also this information on wikipedia about Mall road
      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Mall,_Lahore

      You sure have brought smile on your doctor’s face and while writing this I’m also smiling 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for sharing all of this. Yes I did bring a smile to his face and it pleases me that I seem to have put one on yours too!! That was quite a unique expression of love of Lahore from your teacher. I don’t live in the town I grew up in but whenever I return there I too am filled with nostalgia, so I completely understand how you feel! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. In my opinion, you are right on point. 😛 You have explained it well. We pick up bad habits from speaking and put it here in the written form as well. Writing is about deleting whatever is unnecessary. Nice post. 🙂

    Like

    1. While reading your comment and going back to my post, I was thinking that maybe the case is different with blogging. For, writing in conversational tone we unintentionally opts unnecessary phrases in our writing. Nonetheless, you’re so very right in saying that we pick up bad habits from speaking.
      Thank you for sharing such a spot on comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

would love to have your lovely comments

