Choke-masters South Africa live up to their tag

South Africa team

For girls “choker” would be a necklace or a band that fits closely around their necks but a person who fails to keep his nerves calm at crucial moments is also known as “choker” and in the world of cricket this term is reserved for “South African” team.

An idiom “monkey on the back” means a serious problem which is hard to forget and this word “choker” has now become a monkey on the back of South African team.

Since 1991, the team has participated in six world cup events. In every event they have performed well but despite playing good cricket, South African cricket team has developed this identity of getting choked at crucial moments that the semi-final of world cup 2015 saw them putting a tough target but in the end they left the ground whimpering.

players crying

Recently, I was reading an article by a sport’s psychologist in which after ascertaining the situation of South Africa cricket team, he prescribed yoga as a relaxation technique for them. For, it’s a common perception that the team works so hard in ground that they find little or no time to enjoy their game.

Truth be told, mere hard work cannot always guarantee a successful result and it’s been a long time that while working as a teacher at school, I experienced the same.

With no prior experience, teaching kids was a hell of a task for me. The boys are generally considered to be full of energy but my class was a “basket full” of energy.

In those days, I longed for an opportunity to leave that job but before quitting I decided to give it another chance.

I noticed that though I was working hard but deep in my heart, I was not enjoying my job. I wasn’t happy of my designation but once I accepted the reality, things started to change.

Getting back to cricket, in every game South Africa enters like a strong contender but it was painful to watch them leaving whimpering in 2015. At times, it seems that they’re not enjoying playing their game. They appeared burdened and it’s been a long time that in every world cup event the history is repeating itself.

Not sure when this “jinx” is going to break but one thing is for sure the day the South Africa started to enjoy their game will bring refreshing change for them. For, a mere victory can break this jinx for them.

That being said, I like to share some of my old memories here. Back in 2013, my students made these beautiful drawings for me 🙂

My student made that beautiful drawing for me.

This is one of my personal favorite.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One thought on “Choke-masters South Africa live up to their tag

would love to have your lovely comments

