Two faces of Mother Nature

nature

The idea of taking a day off appears refreshing. It helps in rejuvenating one’s mind and today when I’m writing after fifteen days, my mind is fresh and while typing; my fingers are actually cooperating with me.

It seems harsh and it appears horrible but there’s this strange aspect of Mother Nature that if it is calm and kind then it’s also rude and harsh.

Helen Keller in her autobiography writes

“Miss Sullivan had taught me to find beauty in the fragrant woods, in every blade of grass and in the curves and dimples of my baby sister’s hand… But by this time I had an experience that taught me that nature is not always kind.”

Sitting alone on the tree top, little Helen experienced the sudden change in her surroundings. The warm and calm sun disappeared and as trees swayed and strayed, she realized that the thunderstorm was approaching. On that day her teacher ultimately rescued her but young Hellen learned a lesson from her experience.

She writes

“Nature wages open war against her children, and under softest touch hides treacherous claws.”

That was eleven in the morning when I drafted this piece and while looking outside the window of my room, I found my terrace bathed in morning sunlight. Hopping and jumping among the green leaves, sparrows were busy in uttering the notes of mirth and joy. Under the calm and kind sun, the green leaves were casting majestic shades. Today was a scenic morning but it all appeared indifferent to the chaos that has occurred down in my garage.

In the lamp hanging down the roof of car porch, there’s a bulbul birds’ nest but when the sparrows were busy in singing their merry songs, the stillness haunted the nest. For, the two of the baby birds are missing and in the absence of both father and mother birds, one of the eggs lay unattended.  The nest was quite safe and we’re not sure about what calamity had struck it but we can assume that some predator has devoured the baby birds and being afraid the bulbul bird has also left her nest.

There exist this stark contrast in nature and Thomas Hardy Shakespeare of English Literature beautifully describes it in his writings. Unlike Browning who only praises nature, Hardy accepts nature with all its fury. So, when Browning says

God is in His heaven

All is right with the world

Thomas Hardy writes

“If a way to the better there be

It implies a good look at the worst.”

Ugly as well as beautiful and dark as well as calming, there exist both sides of nature and when Thomas Hardy advocates these phenomena in his novels; I can’t help relating it to the situation outside my room.

I’m sure this is what life is all about. The short lived moment of happiness and joy require our attention to embrace it wholeheartedly and the long and dreary nights of darkness demands an alert and intelligent mind to ascertain the situation and to quote Hardy one needs to take a good look at the worst.

11 thoughts on “Two faces of Mother Nature

    1. Initially, I consider “two faces of mother nature” a strict tone but thought to go with it.
      You’re right about Thomas Hardy. In Hardy’s writings one can find naturalism and while studying my notes of his novel “Return of Native”, I can’t help relating it with my environment.
      You find this post nice to read, it makes me smile 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m so disappointed to hear about the bulbuls, I wonder what happened! 😦
    The short lived moments of happiness and joy need to be extended to become your long lived moments, and the long and dreary nights need to become your short ones. I would suggest adopting Wordsworth’s attitude over Hardy’s.
    Life is about what we make, one can be positive and happy which will attract more of the same or one can be negative and sad which will also attract more of the same into one’s life.
    Choose the happy and positive one!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes, we at home also felt disappointed about bulbul bird. You prefer Hardy over Words Worth and I can’t agree more with you. Words Worth my favorite poet and I definitely go for a happy and positive view of life 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You have written it really well. The flow, the quotes, the description -it all felt a part of a bigger picture. Kudos to you for this piece Madeeha. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read this comment atleast thrice and reading it gives me an immense confidence. I never meant to write something extraordianry. That was just an observation and thank you so very much for finding it nice to read.
      I’m much obliged (:

      Liked by 1 person

would love to have your lovely comments

