Moth and sparrow

Moth.jpg

In my home, a screen door opens in terrace. This wooden frame hinged door provides us a good view of a sunlit day.

There’s hardly a distance of six to seven steps between my room and the door and this morning while reading newspaper, I observed an interesting scene.

On the inner side of a screen door, a flying moth was giving a hard time to a sparrow which on the other side was getting restless. The male sparrow with dark black and brown marks was fluttering its wings. For some moments, ascending above, both moth and sparrow continued to fly in to and fro motion. But, unlike the slow motion of a pendulum, there see saw movement was quick and frustrated and observing the agitated sparrow, I thought to open the door and makes it easy for him to catch the moth but then I remember that the life of moth is already short, for its life span is not more then a week.

It took some time before sparrow realized that his desire to catch a moth was nothing more than a futile attempt. The moment the sparrow flew, the moth also disappeared and turning my attention back to my laptop, I liked reading these quotes

“Life is a frail moth flying caught in the web of the years that pass”

“Between our birth and death we may touch understanding, As a moth brushes a window with its wing”

 

18 thoughts on “Moth and sparrow

  1. What a lovely observation – this reminds me of the time a Monarch butterfly was caught in our conservatory. It was heading towards a spider web in it’s panic to escape. (I had witness that same spider catch and eat a fly the day before and didn’t want the pretty butterfly to become it’s next victim) So I intervened! It took me a while, but I eventually managed to guide the butterfly outside and off it flew! Thank you for sharing this moment and for the poetic quotes you provide at the end xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My pleasure Hayley, and I enjoyed reading your experience too. I don’t know why but I perceive that spider monster here 🙂
      It’s very good that you took the right decision 🙂
      Many thanks for sharing your observation 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You always teach me something…I did not realize a moth only lives for a week…I’m glad you decided not to open the door and gave the moth his time! Love both the quotes at the end… xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. this is so true -the quotes in the end. we can only brush the window of understanding. This along with your musing with a deep philosophical meaning is a g reat read Madeeha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts here. The way you have established connection among sparrow, moth and a tangled web, makes the message of the post more clear.
      I really like reading this beautiful comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

would love to have your lovely comments

