Those were some volunteers

volunteers

2005 earthquake in Pakistan is considered deadliest in country’s history. The 7.6 magnitude earthquake claimed some 76,000 lives.

October 8, 2005 was the month of Ramzan. On that day, I was on leave from college. It was around 8: 55 in the morning and I was busy solving Mathematics questions when I felt, the sofa on which I was sitting was shaking. At first, I stayed where I was but when shaking got worse, we all went outside.

Standing in my courtyard, grabbing my register, I looked at the houses; it was so bad that they were swaying like trees. I can’t remember the exact duration but it all lasted for few minutes.

That was a horrible experience. Though, I was reciting kalma but being a human being my heart was beating profusely. Once, on getting inside, I performed ablution and offered prayer. It gave me some satisfaction but the news on T.V channels weren’t good. It took some time before we realized the intensity of devastation. In capital city of Islamabad, a building got collapsed. It was named Margalla tower and the death toll in the northern areas of Pakistan was extremely high.

Once the news broke out, Pakistanis living abroad started leaving for their country. Volunteers from around the world offered their services.

That was the holy month of Ramzan in which Muslims abstain themselves from eating before the break of the dawn till sunset. In those days, I remember at the time of fast there were lots of blessings of Allah on our dining table and on every other day, I could see such pictures in newspapers in which group of volunteers were sitting patiently waiting to break their fast with nothing but water and some dates.

Those were some tough and painful days. There were stories of death and there were miracles of re-birth. Volunteers from the country and from all around the world performed their selfless service.

Reading the word “volunteer” for daily post took me back to that time, I can vividly recall watching all those faces in newspapers and on T.V which needed nothing but ready to give everything.

Those were some volunteers, mostly they were ordinary people, they didn’t need any kind of accolades and yet performed their selfless services and saved many lives.


Written for the daily post Volunteer

7 thoughts on “Those were some volunteers

  1. There is no greater satisfaction than to volunteer your time to help others! I remember several years ago sitting on my couch and the room starting to sway and the curtains were swaying back and forth. The show I was watching was live and they felt it too…and we are 500 miles apart. They felt it first and then moments later I did. It was an earthquake but fortunately there was no major damage and no lives were lost. Yet it was still a scary and intense feeling to realize the force of Mother Earth. What a sad day for Pakistan, so many lives lost…May the Rest in Peace. I am grateful you and your family were unharmed!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can imagine how you felt while watching live program. That was the power of Divinity and that was the might of Mother Earth.
      Amen to your prayer Deb, it was a sad day for us but from that saddest day many inspirational stories emerged.
      True, there is no great satisfaction then volunteering your time 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

would love to have your lovely comments

