Gratitude journal day 1

unnamed

Yesterday, I came across a post on huffingtonpost. It was about benifits of keeping gratitude journal. The idea of maintaining one seemed nice and after reading it, I thought it’s been a long time that I haven’t sit and spend some time over this topic and thought to maintain my own online gratitude journal for atleast three consective days.

It’s ten in the morning when I’m going to read and make some changes in a draft which I wrote two and a half hours ago. The list is in no particular order and I’m going to keep it the way in which my stream of thoughts bombarded my mind this morning.

  • Β I’m grateful for watching cricket match on TV with my siblings. After a hectic day watching this sport in evening helps in relaxing our minds. More than anything else it’s the first international match with foreign players playing here in Pakistan since 2009 terrorist attack on the then visiting Sirilankan team. It’s been a long time and people are looking happy about the return of cricket in country.
  • I’m happy and blessed to have a wonderful elder sister who despite being married always finds time in hearing my long speech on phone. She lives in another country but due to whatsapp and her caring nature she always seems near.
  • After watching some videos on youtube about killer whales, I explored a lot about them on internet. It feels good to learn about whales who preferrerd to live in families. The mother whale whose average life span is estimated somewhere around 90 years took care of her children throughout her life. I’m grateful for my internet connection which has helped me in exploring a lot about whales.
  • My Samsung Glaxy Tab is of Red color. I also have my mobile phone but I preferred to set morning alarm on my tab. I’m grateful to it for waking me up 5:30 in the morning. Offering the morning prayer is best way to strengthen your bond with God Almighty.
  • I’m grateful to hear all these morning voices outside. Sitting on top of trees, birds are chirping. Somewhere near the gardner is busy mowing lawn grass. It’s seven thirty and it’s school time. Two or three houses from my home, crow is sitting on wall. It’s harsh voice is giving background touch to noise of cars and motorbikes on road. I don’t mind hearing all this disturbance. It shows that life never rests, it moves on.
  • The sun is shining and the day is bright, I’m happy to start a brand new day

Image Courtesy: Google Image(Scrapbook Adhesive)

It’s been almost an year that I wrote this post titled happiness is… on my blog. The list in a post is very close to my heart. My apologies for not creating hyperlink here.

https://valiantwarrior.wordpress.com/2016/09/26/happiness-is/

 

11 thoughts on “Gratitude journal day 1

  1. Oh Madeeha it’s wonderful that you have decided to keep a gratitude journal. You might find after three days that you like it so much and that there are so many things to be grateful for that you continue it!! I love YouTube there are so many fascinating things to learn…love that about the whales. They are amazing creatures of God. I laughed at your writing about your sister and making time to hear your speech on the phone…how wonderful. All summer long here I have enjoyed the birds…I’ve come to learn the different birds’ sounds…the blue jay family tend to be loud, they are a bigger bird than the rest that visit yet they seemed to be the most skiddish..the little birds seem to frighten them off the feeder easily. Ha as I am writing this, I looked out my window and there is a very tall hedge that is right outside my window, there are several birds sitting on the branches looking at me and then they go inside the hedge and then pop back out and are looking all around. I’ve never seen so many of them there before watching me, it’s pretty cool. There’s about 20 birds down at the feeders, I now have two hanging to feed them. It’s like a small gathering and they all take turns eating, several different types of birds come by. This has been my summer entertainment this year and I have enjoyed it immensely! Enjoy you journal and your day!! πŸ™‚ xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh hello Deb, yeah my sister has that much patience πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      I love this idea of writing that it connects you with the world with words. Oh wow, what a lovely description Deb. Now, I know how you stay so cool in tough times. You’re so close to nature and it’s so very evident in your posts πŸ™‚
      You are so true about this idea of gratitude post.
      I hope you’ll find some time to share some pictures of birds waiting for their turn to eat from feeders!! xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are blessed with a wonderful sister…:-)
        I have always loved to find out what the meaning behind something is as I believe there always is…it’s just fun!! I don’t always stay so cool but I’m starting to get better at it. I will be posting a video on the Praying Mantis showing him enjoying his new home. I checked on him this morning and he’s still fine, that makes me happy!!
        If I had created a gratitude journal for people to use I could have sent it to you… πŸ˜‰ but for now you can create your own!! I have bought many journals whose outside cover had made me smile and have used those to write my gratitudes or whatever other thoughts I have felt like putting down on paper. I have one in particular that I so love, it’s indigo in color with a girl wearing a sparkling veil and having golden hair, she’s holding the moon and below her are mountains and water and around and above her are stars…it’s so magical looking!!
        I posted a video on Facebook from the summer but I should video a new one with the second feeder out there as there are so many more birds all at one. They usually wait until I go inside but if I sit there long enough they do start feeding. I will try to do so later and post it Madeeha!!
        Wishing you a wonderful week ahead my sweet friend!! xo πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Okay, so now I know the name of praying mantis. I saw it in images but didn’t know its name. What do you feed them and is it common to keep them as a pet?
          Oh wow, you have lots of stories to tell about your surroundings. It’s so great Deb and I admire your love for nature πŸ™‚
          And, to be honest I would love to have some kind of gratitude journal from you πŸ™‚
          Go for it Deb, you can do it!! πŸ™‚
          Waiting for a video of praying mantis. If somehow I missed seeing it on my reader. Do inform me here.
          Thanks for wishes Deb!! xo

          Liked by 1 person

          1. They like live insects and I don’t think it’s common to keep them as a pet. I was worried with the cold weather that will eventually be here, that he wouldn’t survive so I considered keeping him inside. But I don’t like the idea of feeding him live insects. They say you can buy fruitflies at the pet store and feed them those but I don’t think so. Also the expected lifespan of a Praying Mantis is 6 months to 1 year…sometimes longer if you do keep them as a pet.
            Right now I am learning to play my piano and writing songs…but I will create a gratitude journal at some point and when I do I will send you one!
            I just posted the video of the Praying Mantis which I have named Shiva…you will read why.
            Go enjoy it… πŸ™‚ xo

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Thank you Deb for telling me about praying mantis. Interesting information and best of luck with your learning of piano and song writing. Oh, I can dream of receving a gratitude journal from you πŸ™‚
              Meanwhile I’m off to see what’s Shiva is doing in your garden.. xo

              Liked by 1 person

would love to have your lovely comments

